Whitman College
‌ 

Events

September 27 - October 26, 2020

Monday, September 28

Tuesday, September 29

Structural Racism in the Workplace

Racism is deeply ingrained in our society and that includes our places of work. Many organization are discussing how to tackle systematic racism in the...

12 pm
Virtual Event

Thursday, October 1

Friday, October 2

Monday, October 5

Tuesday, October 6

Reclaiming a Sense of Common Humanity: An Ethical Vision of Classical Confucianism for Today's World

This talk will demonstrate how the moral sentiment of a common humanity should and can be reclaimed, or in the Confucian term, cultivated through engaging...

2:30 pm
Virtual Event
Reclaiming a Sense of Common Humanity: An Ethical Vision of Classical Confucianism for Today’s World

This talk will demonstrate how the moral sentiment of a common humanity should and can be reclaimed, or in the Confucian term, cultivated through engaging...

2:30 pm
Virtual Event
Trauma, adversity and the epigenome: Looking within and between generations in two African ancestry populations

Exposure to trauma is unfortunately quite common, with over 70% of adults reporting an experience of trauma globally. Despite the high prevalence of trauma,...

4 pm
Virtual Event

Wednesday, October 7

Thursday, October 8

The Common Read Project - Session 1

Following Whitman’s common read of How to Be an Antiracist by Ibram X. Kendi, we invite the campus community to discuss the moments of realization Kendi...

Decolonizing Activism

Decolonizing Activism Decolonisation as theory and practice has become a central focus in discussions of anti-racist futures. Join us for a roundtable...

7 pm
Virtual Event

Wednesday, October 14

Thursday, October 15

The Common Read Project - Session 2

Following Whitman’s common read of How to Be an Antiracist by Ibram X. Kendi, we invite the campus community to discuss the moments of realization Kendi...

Thursday, October 22

The Common Read Project - Session 3

Following Whitman’s common read of How to Be an Antiracist by Ibram X. Kendi, we invite the campus community to discuss the moments of realization Kendi...

Women Leaders in Whitman Athletics

Join the women coaches, staff and volunteers leading the Whitman Athletic program.

Monday, October 26

September 27 - October 26, 2020